Jean COCTEAU (1889 - 1963)

Lot 40
Go to lot
Estimation :
35000 - 40000 EUR
Result with fees
Result : 41 580EUR
Jean COCTEAU (1889 - 1963)

Complete set of the Satiricon, 1961
Seven Red
Earthen Cups and coloured
enamels Edition of 15 copies
Diam 36 cm
The different subjects:
- The couple with the dogs
- The three boys
in a muddle - The fauna and the two girls
- The old man and the teenagers
- The three boys in a yellow
scarf - Interior
scene - Suzanne and the old men
Rare set of this complete

series The Satiricon is considered as one of the first novels of the world literature. It tells the adventures of three young men, Encolpe, Giton and Ascylte.
The identity of the author of the Satyricon remains the subject of controversy: in turn have been cited a relative of Nero, Pliny the Younger or more commonly today attributed to Petrone
. It is a literary innovation for antiquity, so much so that it could be considered the first European novel. The history of the text is complex: the current Satyricon is the result of several manuscripts whose paths are still obscure. The first editions of the Satyricon were published, under the author's name "Petronius Arbiter", in Milan in 1482, but the first complete edition of the novel was published in Amsterdam in 1669.
The double meaning makes the Satyricon both a novel of sexual and moral debauchery and the receptacle of embedded narratives that prefigures the modern novel. Despite several narrative inconsistencies, the Satyricon is written in a popular Latin that bears witness to Petronius' aesthetic and sociological research.
The plot is essentially based on the flight and wandering of the characters. The latter, and in particular the trio of protagonists, are portrayed as marginalized youths, objects of the violence of society and women. Also a novel about homosexuality, the details provided by Petrone have helped to better understand Roman mores. The Satyricon is thought to be a message to civilization: by describing decadence and life on the margins, its author
My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Return to catalogue

Jean COCTEAU (1889 - 1963)

Lot 40
Aller au lot
Estimation :
35000 - 40000 EUR

Jean COCTEAU (1889 - 1963)


Ensemble complet du Satiricon, 1961
Sept Coupes
Terre rouge et émaux colorés
Tirage à 15 exemplaires
Diam 36 cm
Les différents sujets:
- Le couple aux chiens
- La mêlée des trois garçons
- Le faune et les deux filles
- Le vieillard et les adolescents
- Les trois garçons à l’écharpe jaune
- Scène d’intérieur
- Suzanne et les vieillards
Rare ensemble de cette série complète

Le Satiricon est considéré comme un des premiers romans de la littérature mondiale. Il conte les aventures de trois jeunes-hommes, Encolpe, Giton et Ascylte.
L'identité de l'auteur du Satyricon demeure l'objet de polémiques : tour à tour ont été cités un proche de Néron, Pline le jeune ou plus communément aujourd’hui attribué à Petrone
Il constitue une innovation littéraire pour l'Antiquité, si bien qu'il a pu être considéré comme le premier roman européen. L'histoire du texte est complexe : le Satyricon actuel est issu de plusieurs manuscrits dont les cheminements sont encore obscurs. L'édition princeps du Satyricon est publiée, sous le nom d'auteur de « Petronius Arbiter », à Milan en 1482, mais la première édition complète du roman est publiée à Amsterdam en 1669.
Le double sens fait à la fois du Satyricon un roman de la débauche sexuelle et morale et le réceptacle de récits enchâssés qui préfigure le roman moderne. En dépit de plusieurs incohérences narratives, le Satyricon est écrit dans un latin populairequi témoigne de la recherche esthétique et sociologique de Pétrone.
L'intrigue est essentiellement fondée sur la fuite et l'errance des personnages. Ces derniers, et en particulier le trio des protagonistes, sont dépeints comme des jeunes marginaux, objets de la violence de la société et des femmes. Roman de l'homosexualité également, les détails que fournit Pétrone ont permis de mieux comprendre les moeurs romaines. Le Satyricon est pensé comme un message à la civilisation : par la descripti
Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de ventes
Retourner au catalogue